TALENTED hockey kids at Dunfermline High School ended 2017 in style by bringing home a Kingdom crown for the first time in a decade.

The second year girls’ side travelled to St Andrews to compete in the Fife Schools Hockey Tournament ahead of the festive break and brought the trophy back to the school for the first time since 2007.

The victorious squad of Ailidh Kelso, Sunny Walker, Imogen Wilson, Louise Nimmo, Lily Hinde, Holly Fitzgerald, Kirsty Robertson, Kirsten Gibb, Emma Marday, Holly Davidson, Abbie Fairclough and Hannah Coleburn were praised by Mary Murphy, principal teacher of PE, who said: “Some excellent results and performances from the players resulted in an outright win.

“Results included 0-0 against St Leonards, 1-0 against Waid Academy, 3-0 against Dunfermline High’s B team and 1-0 against Madras, with the scorers Holly Davidson, Holly Fitzgerald and Imogen Wilson.

“The behaviour and attitude shown by all the pupils in St Andrews were a credit to the school and it is an excellent achievement by the girls.”