THE eighth annual Scottish Alternative Music Awards (SAMAs) went down a treat last night at The Garage in Glasgow.

The Van T’s won the prestigious Best Live Act award and were presented with the prize by main sponsor Rebel Rebel Barbers.

Dunfermline Press:

Other winners included fuzzy garage rockers SHREDD!, singer-songwriter Lewis Capaldi and progressive metal outfit Tiberius.

DJ Jim Gellatly hosted the night in which special guests Vic Galloway, Laura Boyd, Nightwave and more presented the seven awards.

The event began with live sets by electro trio BooHooHoo and riff kings Holy Mountain. Post-punk five-piece White closed proceedings with some unreleased material, as well as tracks from their debut album, One Night Stand Forever.

Dunfermline Press:

SAMAs founder and organiser Richy Muirhead said: “Last night’s ceremony was a great celebration of Scottish music, you could really feel the energy in the room from the start to the end.

“The live line-up and 2017 nominations showcase the wealth of talent in Scotland across multiple genres. Congratulations to all nominees and winners from everyone at the SAMAs.”

The full list of winners:

Best Metal in association with Cathouse - Tiberius
Best Live Act in association with Xpo North - The Van Ts
Best Acoustic in association with Assai UK - Lewis Capaldi
Best Electronic in association with citizenM - Stillhound
Best Hip Hop in association with Boyd Digital - Kid Robotik
Best Newcomer in association with The Academy Of Music & Sound - SHREDD!

Best Rock/Alternative in association with Eventbrite UK - Shambolics

Keep up to date via