PARALYMPIC champion Owen Miller and Pitreavie AAC were celebrating on Saturday evening as they picked up prizes at a prestigious national awards ceremony.

Scottish Athletics hosted its 4J Studios Annual Awards, held at Glasgow's Hilton Hotel, and saw a strong list of nominees from West Fife.

In addition to Owen and Pitreavie, Dunfermline Track and Field, Owen's coach, Steve Doig, and Alison Miller Duff and Laura Wall, both members of Pitreavie's Jog Scotland group, Ready, Steady, Go Pitreavie, were also shortlisted for accolades.

Owen, 29, competed in his first Paralympic Games in Tokyo last month and, in one of the competition's most memorable moments, he raced to gold in the T20 1500 metres.

That saw him nominated for the Para Athlete of the Year award, alongside Kayleigh Haggo, a World and European 100m frame-running champion; Sammi Kinghorn, who won women's T53 400m silver, and 100m bronze, in Tokyo; and Maria Lyle, a T35 100m and 200m bronze medal-winner at the Games.

Owen, who was also feted by Scottish Disability Sport as the winner of their Findlay Calder Trophy, for Athlete of the Year, and the Gordon Brown Trophy, for the Athletes' Athlete of the Year, was named as the award winner, and said: "‘I’m thrilled to win this award as Para athletics in Scotland is very strong.

"It’s all down to hard work and a lot of help from everyone in my training group."

It was also a successful evening for Pitreavie AAC, who were named as the Track and Field Club of the Year, whilst Miller Duff was named as the Jog Scotland Achiever of the Year.

Her Ready, Steady, Go Pitreavie club-mate Wall was nominated for the SAMH (Scottish Association for Mental Health) Mental Wellbeing Award, whilst Dunfermline Track and Field were shortlisted for Impact Club of the Year, which was awarded to Harmeny AC.

Doig, who works with Owen at FIfe AC, who were named as the Janice Eaglesham MBE Para Development Club of the Year, as well as with Pitreavie, was a nominee in the Performance Coach of the Year category, a prize that was won by Andy Young.

Five-time Olympian, Jo Pavey, was guest of honour at the awards, which also saw Laura Muir - who won 1500m silver at the Tokyo Olympics, and was part of the former Dunfermline West club with Owen when they were youngsters - win the Athlete of the Year award.

We will have more on the awards in this Thursday's Press Sport.