THE stars of West Fife's sporting scene will be celebrated tonight with the return of a prestigious awards ceremony.

The Dunfermline and West Fife Sports Council Awards for 2022 will take place at Queen Anne High School, recognising the individuals, teams, clubs and volunteers for their achievements over the last 12 months.

First held in 1978, West Fife's sporting 'Oscars' will see awards presented in eight categories, including that of Sports Personality of the Year, which is sponsored by the Press.

Given to an "outstanding sports person resident and training in Dunfermline and West Fife, who is a current member of a local club and has achieved consistently high performance in 2022", the prize has been won previously by the likes of Eilidh Doyle, an Olympic and Commonwealth Games medallist, and European champion, in athletics; swimmers Emma Russell and Tain Bruce, who competed for Scotland at this year's Commonwealth Games in Birmingham; and para triathlete Alison Peasgood, who won Paralympic Games silver in 2016.

Owen Miller, following his stunning ParalympicT20 1500 metres win in Tokyo, on his Games debut, was the recipient of the prize in last year's awards, which returned after a 12-month absence due to COVID-19, although the planned awards ceremony had to be cancelled, with the winners receiving their awards from sports council secretary Lindsay Weir.

In the running for the 2022 accolade are European champion boxer, Niamh Mitchell; Commonwealth Games judoka, Kirsty Marsh; and Dunfermline Track and Field athletes, Darcie Black and Shayna Asamoah.

Darcie picked up the Young Sports Personality of the Year award last year and in the running for this year's prize, sponsored by Carnegie Dunfermline Trust, are motorsport star, Lennon Docherty; Dunfermline Track and Field athlete, Sophie Thomas; judo duo Jocelyn Callaghan and James Rutherford; and taekwondo competitor, Lily Finch.

The men's teams with Carnegie Dunfermline Hockey Club and Dunfermline Reign are up for Team of the Year, whilst the Junior Team of the Year award will be picked up by either Dunfermline Rugby Club's under-15, or under-16, teams, or the under-17 girls team with Dunfermline Track and Field.

Awards will also be presented in the Coach of the Year, Services to Sport and School Ambassador of the Year categories, as well as in the East Kilbride Sports Council Award, for athletes with a disability.

Press Sport will bring you the award winners from the ceremony on our website, with full coverage of the awards, plus interviews, in next week's edition.