DUNFERMLINE Tennis Club’s remarkable record in the ladies’ Scottish Cup continued recently as they reached yet another final.

The team – captain Janet Henderson, Zoe Henderson, Liana Waclawski, Alison Reid, Alessia Palmieri, Fiona Reid and Dianne Taylor – defeated holders David Lloyd Aberdeen 5-1 in their semi-final to progress to the final with rivals Newlands, based in Glasgow, tomorrow.

The Dunfermline side had defeated Giffnock 5-4 in the last eight but, with home advantage, they quickly found themselves in control of the match as Waclawski and Alison Reid and Zoe Henderson and Fiona Reid won their opening matches to give them a 2-0 lead.

Although Palmieri and Taylor lost out in their clash with Carole Ferguson and Fay Duff, Dunfermline were not to be denied and clinched three more matches to win in commanding fashion.

The final of the competition, managed and delivered by Tennis Scotland, will take place at Craiglockhart in Edinburgh and Dunfermline will be looking to continue their dominance of the tournament.

The Bothwell Street club are record winners of the trophy, winning it 18 times since 1988, last victorious in 2009.