ATHLETIC chairman Ross McArthur has been appointed to the SPFL board for the forthcoming season following a meeting of clubs today (Monday).

The league's Annual General Meeting, attended by each of the 42 clubs within the league structure, took place at Hampden and six club representatives were elected to serve on the board for the 2019/20 season.

It is made up of three Premiership representativies, two from the Championship and one covering League One and League Two, and McArthur was elected alongside Ayr United's Graham Peterkin.

Also elected were Alan Burrows, from Motherwell; Les Gray, of Hamilton Academical; Stewart Robertson, from Rangers; and Brechin City's Ken Ferguson.

They will work alongside SPFL chief executive Neil Doncaster, chairman Murdoch MacLennan, and independent non-executive director Karyn McCluskey.

In addition, members at the meeting also approved the use of a fourth substitute in extra time in the end of season play-offs, mirroring the current position in the Betfred Cup and Tunnock’s Caramel Wafer Cup.