ROSYTH have had their application to join the East of Scotland League for next season accepted.

Following a meeting of member clubs last night (Thursday), they were one of nine applicants whose place was ratified, the club have confirmed to Press Sport this afternoon.

It means that Rosyth, which currently plays its games at the Fleet Grounds, will leave the Scottish Junior Football Association's East Region after signalling its intention to do so in February.

The move had the backing of the club's manager, Brian Muirhead, and his squad, who were leading the East Region Premier Division South table when play was halted in March.

The junior season has been declared null and void, denying Rosyth a potential title win, but they said in a statement this afternoon: "The club received the news late last night that our application to join the EoS set-up had been accepted for season 2020/21.

"First and foremost, this is great news for the club and the community of Rosyth, in what promises to be an exciting new challenge ahead for the club.

"Secondly, we would like to put on record and thank all at the junior association, who have helped the club in the 30-plus years we have been associated within the juniors.

"The players have been told and we now look forward to a new era at the club. Currently the gaffer, along with his backroom team, are putting plans in place for pre-season, and are hopeful on a few new signings!

"Thank you for your continued support!"

Following last night's EGM of East of Scotland League clubs, Lochgelly Albert, Lochore Welfare, Kirkcaldt and Dysart, Kennoway Star Hearts, Luncarty, Newburgh, Thornton Hibs and Edinburgh South were also accepted.

Eyemouth United, who did not compete last season, will also return for the forthcoming campaign.

In an email to the successful clubs, the league said: "At tonight’s Extraordinary General Meeting, member clubs of the East of Scotland League voted to accept your club’s application for membership, on condition the Board is satisfied your club fully complies with the entry criteria by the end of its first season in membership, with the proviso that failure to comply by then will result in membership being reviewed."

Further talks are set to be held on how the league structure will take shape.

Currently, the East of Scotland League consists of a 16-team Premier Division, and two, 12-team First Division conferences.

After the current season was brought to a close after a vote of clubs, Conference A winners, Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale, and Tynecastle, winners of Conference B, will move up to the Premier Division, from which there will be no relegation.

Bo'ness United - winners of the Premier Division - await a decision from the Lowland League as to whether they will be promoted.

If they are, then Inverkeithing Hillfield Swifts, as the second-placed Conference team with the highest points, would then take their place.