SCOTLAND star Caroline Weir has added another individual honour to her collection after being named in the PFA (Professional Footballers' Association) Team of the Year.

The Dunfermline-born 25-year-old was acknowledged for another fine campaign with Manchester City by being chosen by her peers for the FA Women's Super League side for the 2019/20 season.

Caroline, a former pupil at Dunfermline High School, joined City from Liverpool in the summer of 2018 and helped them to win both the FA Women's League Cup and FA Cup, the latter of which was played in front of more than 40,000 fans at Wembley.

Last season's FA WSL was brought to an end on May 25 due to the Coronavirus pandemic and, after it was decided that final placings would be decided on a points-per-game basis, Chelsea moved above Caroline's City to pip them to the title.

Despite that, 71-times capped Caroline's consistent performances in midfield won the admiration of players across the game, while she also had the honour of netting the winner in the first-ever women's Manchester derby.

That game, the opening fixture of last season, was held in front of 31,213 at the Etihad Stadium and her blockbuster 25-yard goal ensured she entered City folklore.

In addition, that effort also ensured Caroline collected her club's 'goal of the season' prize at their end of season awards – following a fan vote – in July.

Last month, she was part of the City side that contested the first women's Community Shield match in 12 years against Chelsea at Wembley, in which they were beaten 2-0.

On Saturday, Caroline started as City began their WSL campaign with a 2-0 win at Aston Villa, while they will continue their defence of the FA Cup with a quarter-final at Leicester City over the weekend of September 26-27.

Also eyeing a place in the last four of that competition will be former St Columba's High School pupil Lucy Graham, who will lead Everton in a home tie with Chelsea.

The former Dunfermline midfielder, also a Scotland international, netted twice as the Toffees opened their WSL campaign with a 4-0 win at Bristol City on Sunday.

The full FA WSL Team of the Year is: Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea); Maren Mjelde (Chelsea), Millie Bright (Chelsea), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea); Ji So-Yun (Chelsea), Kim Little (Arsenal), Caroline Weir (Manchester City); Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal), Chloe Kelly (Manchester City), Beth England (Chelsea).