An annual race hosted by a West Fife athletics club had its highest number of finishers to date as almost 600 completed the popular event.

PH Racing Club, based in Dunfermline, recently held their 'Tilli 10k' event for the fifth time and a total of 593 runners completed the race.

Held on a largely flat course from Tillicoultry to Dollar and back, it took place on the fifth anniversary of the inaugural 2018 event, with 39 of those taking part breaking the 35-minute barrier, and 138 finishing in under 40 minutes, 23 of whom were female.

A new winner of the men's race was confirmed in Kilbarchan AC's Robbie Ferguson, in a time of 30 minutes and 46 seconds, with the top three completed by Moray Pryde (Lothian Running Club, 30:45), and Central AC's Calum Phillip (30:55).

In the women's event, Ginie Barrand (Metro Aberdeen) came home first in 33:27, almost two minutes clear of the 2021 champion, and previous course record holder, Morag Millar (Central AC, 35:14), with Central AC's Jennifer Wetton (35:36) placing third.

Paul Kieran (34:55) was the fastest of the host club's runners, placing third in the M45 age group, with Aaron Bennet (35:15) following closely behind.

Gayle Lindsay (37:31) placed sixth female overall, with twin sister Katrina finishing inside the top 20 with a run of 39:15, whilst other club prize winners included Ian Stewart (M65) and Ed Norton (M70), who were second in their respective age categories in 39:43 and 43:05.

Sam Rice (Kilmarnock, 33:26) and Isla Paterson (Gala Harriers, 37:32) were the junior race winners, whilst triumphing in their respective age groups were Martyn Glancy (Cumbernauld AAC, 35:02) and Nicola Gauld (Metro Aberdeen, 40:09), in the V40s; Iain Reid (Cambuslang, 33:29) and Katrine Kelly (Troon Tortoises, 38:55), in the V45s; Michael Fullarton (Edinburgh AC, 35:42) and Megan Wright (HBT, 42:43), in the V50s; Steve Cairns (FBT, 34:43) and Claire Gilchrist (Ferranti AAC, 42:43), in the V55s; Chris Upson (Cambuslang, 36:21) and Fiona Matheson (Falkirk Victoria Harriers, 38:59) in the V60s; Colin Feechan (Cambuslang, 37:45) and Margaret Martin (Fife AC, 50:27) in the V65s; Tony Martin (Fife AC, 42:39) and Jane Binnie (Wee County Harriers, 1:01:37) in the V70s; and Ian Cuthbert (M75, 57:06) and Robert Young (M80, 46:12).

Corstorphine AAC took the team prize, with Fife AC and Central AC second and third.

For full race results, visit the Perfect Timing website.