DALGETY BAY athletics star Caleb McLeod has been shortlisted for a prestigious prize at a national awards ceremony.

The 17-year-old Pitreavie AAC star, who medalled for Team Scotland at this year's Commonwealth Youth Games, is one of three names put forward for 'Under-20 Athlete of the Year' in the scottishathletics and jogscotland 4J Studios Annual Awards Dinner.

Taking place in Glasgow on Saturday October 28, the awards will welcome former Pitreavie star, Eilidh Doyle, as its guest of honour as athletes, coaches, clubs and volunteers are recognised for their success and commitment.

In August, Caleb travelled to Trinidad and Tobago to represent Scotland at the Commonwealth Youth Games, where he competed in the 800 metres.

READ MORE: Caleb races to Commonwealth Youth Games medal

One of 49 athletes to compete for his country, across several sports, he qualified for the final by finishing third in his heat, and repeated that placing in the final to win bronze.

Thanks to a strong finish down the home straight, Caleb finished behind Kenya's race winner, Kelvin Kimutai Koech, and England's Miles Waterworth, on the podium in a time of one minute and 52.83 seconds, winning Scotland's first medal on the track at the 2023 Games.

He has been shortlisted for the Under-20 Athlete of the Year alongside Dean Patterson and Natasha Phillips.

Meanwhile, Fife AC's Ben Sandilands, who trains alongside club-mate and 2021 Paralympic champion, Owen Miller, in a group led by coach, Steve Doig, at the Pitreavie track, has been nominated for Para Athlete of the Year.

Ben has been put forward for the prize, won by Owen after his T20 1500m Paralympic win in 2021, after he won the same event at this year's Para Athletics World Championships.

Caleb and Ben join their coach, Doig, and Pitreavie AAC in being shortlisted for prizes at the scottishathletics event.

Previously, we reported that Doig had been put forward for Performance Development Coach of the Year, and Para Performance Coach of the Year, whilst Pitreavie have been nominated for Track and Field Club of the Year.